Over Heating????

Moderator: Moderators

mike-h
My Bike: tomos moped

Over Heating????

Post by mike-h »

Hey there, I am brand new to the ZXR 400 world and loving every minute of it! I am just a little concerened that my engine is running hot at times. Might be paranoia but I have just spent £600 sorting the head gasket out on an MGF. I have no leaks but after a good ride the needle jumps up when I am in slow traffic. Is this normal or should I start saving my pennies??
masterofinsanity
Site Admin
Site Admin
My Bike: Aprilia Tuono Fighter

Post by masterofinsanity »

first thing i'd do mate is check/change the coolant mixture, if there's not a good mixture in there it will overheat, if the water is rusty then there's no or not enough antifreeze, its there to stop the bike overheating and also stops the thermostat seizing up with rust.

ps welcome to my world :-)
Don't forget people there is more to the zxr400 than this forum... check out www.zxrworld.co.uk also.
mike-h

Post by mike-h »

Thanks! Been watching for a while now but decided to join in.
My bike has just had a major service before I bought it and the coolant was drained and new put in... amongst a load of other work. It just seems to edge up when I am slow or stoped, then when I get going again things go back to normal. I am on 21k miles and I know thats about when the HG tends to go and thought that might be the first signs?
masterofinsanity
Site Admin
Site Admin

as long as it don't go to the top and start spewing out coolant i wouldn't worry, but i'm the first to worry when my temp gauge on the cage starts rising.
Don't forget people there is more to the zxr400 than this forum... check out www.zxrworld.co.uk also.
The Pole

Post by The Pole »