engine tick and getting hot

Moderator: Moderators

shakey
My Bike: tomos moped

engine tick and getting hot

Post by shakey »

whilst out last night the engine devoled a nasty tick and overheated. I have not go the fogiest what goings on she starts fine and at idle the tick is intermitent then at revs its constant. There is no smoke and no leaks and it sounds like its coming form the top end?help please!
Rob-ZX4R

Post by Rob-ZX4R »

May be a worn camchain/camchain tensioner or the tappets.

I'm no expert though.

:smt001
shakey

Post by shakey »

god knows I've had the rocker cover off and had a look around and it's lubricated ok but to the untrained eye who knows... i've only had it a week :smt013
masterofinsanity
Site Admin
Site Admin
My Bike: Aprilia Tuono Fighter

Post by masterofinsanity »

the joys of buying a new vehicle. sounds like the tappets need shimming, but don't all bikes make noises?
Don't forget people there is more to the zxr400 than this forum... check out www.zxrworld.co.uk also.
wonderpupp
L-plate hell
L-plate hell
My Bike: ZX6R P7F

Post by wonderpupp »

Yep, all bikes make noises.

I took lots of bits off my ZXR, like the heavy bit of chain guard cover when you change the front sprocket, saved weight you see. Made lots of strange noises. For a long time.

The only noises you should really worry about is one when you have smoke/oil/water pouring out from somewhere at the same time.

You should hear my er5 ticking over. All sorts going on there.
kwackkev22

Post by kwackkev22 »