clutch noise

Moderator: Moderators

steve2776
My Bike: tomos moped

clutch noise

Post by steve2776 »

hi all, just wondering if anyone could tell me why i can hear a rattling noise when my clutch is out in neutral, when i pull the clutch in the noise dissapears. could it be something as simple as the clutch cable or is this gonna cost me a fortune. im new to motorcycles and dont know much about them at all. it is a j reg zxr 400, many thanks, steve.
Merls

More noise in neutral

Post by Merls »

very strange, I have the same problem and every time I ask somebody what it could be they look at me with concern! I can't help but would be interested if anyone can.
Full Tilt

Post by Full Tilt »

Hi mate,

Same on my j plater as well it's been doing it for 5 years now and not got any worse, i have been told by a couple of people it is nothing to wory about. It's just the clutch basket ratteling as it has no pressure on it as the clutch is not engaged.

Hope this helps ?
masterofinsanity
Site Admin
Site Admin
My Bike: Aprilia Tuono Fighter

Post by masterofinsanity »

don't fret peoples. its a zxr400 clutch, they all do it, there is a post somewhere on this forum i'll see if i can find it that explains what it is, i will be adding a buyers guide to the website soon and will mention it.
Don't forget people there is more to the zxr400 than this forum... check out www.zxrworld.co.uk also.
steve2776

Post by steve2776 »

its doin my head in, need to get it sorted asap, got my bike test in 2 weeks and i want the problem solved, im off to work now and i hope ive got loads of replies when i get home lol, c'mon guys, HELP!!!
masterofinsanity
Site Admin
Site Admin

posted at the same time :D
Don't forget people there is more to the zxr400 than this forum... check out www.zxrworld.co.uk also.
steve2776

Post by steve2776 »

IT SEEMS TO RATTLE WORSE WHEN I REV THE ENGINE AT VERY LOW REVS, BUT ANYTHING OVER 2000RPM ITS GREAT. ITS JUST IF I TWEEK THE ACCELERATOR.
masterofinsanity