Chain and sprockets

Moderator: Moderators

Jeppo
L-plate hell
L-plate hell

Chain and sprockets

Post by Jeppo »

Did a quick search but couldnt find what i was looking for!

There is far too much slack in my chain, it actually will touch the swingarm comfortably!! There are 2 more notches left on the adjustment thingy, but its looking a bit groggy, as is the rear sprocket, so i think all 3 need to be changed??

Is this an easy job? Do i need any special tools? i.e. one of those chain breaker kits? As reading the manual there is no mention of this...

I would most likely go for an O - ring chain, where do you lot source your C+S's from? Obviously don;t wanna skimp on these things, but I am a student after all - Beer or Bike that is the question :smt003
masterofinsanity
Site Admin
Site Admin
My Bike: Aprilia Tuono Fighter

Re: Chain and sprockets

Post by masterofinsanity »

ok, you need to change all 3 in 1 go otherwise you are wasting your time. as your not a fully paid member to benefit from discounts :smt003 motorcycle products.com, wemoto, ebay, m&P, demon tweeks, busters etc etc etc and as for a special chain tool, no way, a pair of mole grips, ball pein hammer and a spare 6mm nut is all thats needed.
Don't forget people there is more to the zxr400 than this forum... check out www.zxrworld.co.uk also.
zimm
zxr400 oc member
zxr400 oc member
My Bike: ZXR400-M4, ZX4, ZX6R.

Post by zimm »

and an angle grinder to cut through the old one :smt003

you may be lucky and find the chain on there has a spring clip, in which case its easy.. if you get a chain with a choice of spring clip and rivet link, fit the spring clip, then (if of a paranoid disposition) take it to a local bike mechanic type place and ask them nicely to fit the rivet link. Last time i did this they chucked me the chain breaker and told me to bring it back the next day = RESULT !