cut out over bumps

Moderator: Moderators

mcollett
My Bike: zxr400 l2

cut out over bumps

Post by mcollett »

Hi all I’m new to the forum so I apologise if I have managed to put this in the wrong place.
I am also new to proper bikes. I’ve had a 50cc for two years and about a month ago I purchase a zxr 400 L2 import as my first proper bike.
After some small teething issues (running out of fuel :smt010 ) all seems to be well other than a couple of small annoyances.

First: the bike seems to cut out if I go over to much of a bump... but not all the time only occasionally e.g. on the same road every day at the same speed it may or may not cut out (starting to get dangerous whilst at 70 on a motorway :smt013 ). I was thinking something to do with the side stand or side stand switch but I’m not overly sure really as I don't have a lot of knowledge on how these components operate normally. mainly thinking side stand switch because if I stop put it in neutral, put the stand down and release the clutch it may or may not cut out... dependent on its mood.

Secondly: it does not seem to idle properly, whilst cold it doesn't like to tick over at all (as expected) however once warm it might idle at 2000rpm or 1500rpm or 1250 rpm (like it's meant to) without alteration to the idle adjustment. Not sure if this could be due to the problem described above.

Thank you in advance for any help and advice given
tgal7032
My Bike: ZXR400 L2

Re: cut out over bumps

Post by tgal7032 »

I've had similar problems with my L2. It wouldn't idle properly, and if left to idle it would cut out where it wasn't firing on all cylinders, you could either crank if for a few minutes with it backfiring, or leave it 10 minutes and try again. When riding hard it wouldn't run on all 4 when it was hot, limping it back home was a nightmare, new coils fixed these issues, I'd check the HT leads, caps and coils in case they're being jolted as you're riding.