Zxr 400 spluttering

Moderator: Moderators

Skins62
My Bike: Zxr400l

Zxr 400 spluttering

Post by Skins62 »

Hi folks scratching my head here as I am no bike mechanic, I am going through another mid life crisis and decided to buy myself another zxr 400 ,it has serious issues running ,when I got it ,it spluttered like mad under 5000 rpm so took it to our local bike repairer ,he took the tank off and the carb rubbers and clamps where really bad so he replaced them ,got the bike back and it's worse than ever ,it's hard to even keep it going ,cuts out when warm at every occasion ,absolutely gutted .any advise would be gratefully received ,by the way it's an l1 model but for some strange reason has no overflow res on the side ?
Thanks people
Last edited by Skins62 on Sun Jul 28, 2013 10:37 am, edited 1 time in total.
ross46
Restricted
Restricted
My Bike: zxr 400 l6

Re: Zxr 400 spluttering

Post by ross46 »

Does it idle ok? I would check all of the carb settings and set it back to standard, does it have any modifications? Exhaust or filter?
Skins62

Post by Skins62 »

Hi mate yes it has an after market can ,a jce carbon can ,not sure what jets should be in it though ? Idles on choke ok but when warm cuts out ? Thanks for your quick reply
Skins62

Post by Skins62 »

How do I find out what jets it should have in please ?
ross46
Restricted
Restricted

Post by ross46 »

For a k&n filter, desnorkeled airbox, aftermarket downpipes and straighthrough can K&N air filter, sandy bike spares downpipes and a straight through can with a de-snorkled airbox still with the top silencer cover (i think it helps to stop rain getting in the airbox.

pilot air screws set to 2 and 3/4 turns out from fully in - any less and i need a touch of choke to fire up, any more and i can smell unburnt petrol on tickover.

pilot jets - K35 as standard