Complete noob need a few tips please

There seems to be more and more members appearing that are racing the ZXR400 so i've created a special section just for you to show off results, discuss meets etc etc.

Moderator: Moderators

Christian555
My Bike: ZXR 400

Complete noob need a few tips please

Post by Christian555 »

Hi. I'm starting a bit of racing in 2017 because I'm going to get weekends off work this year & I normally don't get them off.

I've signed up for racing at anglesey, tonfanau, aintree, oulton and 3 sisters & I hope to get rid of the yellow vest & not fall off.

I'm doing it on a very tight budget & have zero experience but I'm doing it for the experience & to say at least I gave it a go. I'm always saying 'I wish that was me' everytime I go & watch any m/c racing.

Anyways, I plan to buy a rear shock......any recommendations on the best/cheapest? I was thinking Nitron?

GSXR K1/k2/k3 calipers.....do they fit the standard L9 disc?

Do I need to drain my coolant and replace with just water? I've read this & it says its because its slippery if spilt but is this actually a fact & is it checked before a race? If so, what is it replaced with......tap water or distilled water :smt017

Do I only have to lockwire the oil drain plug, oil filter and the oil filler cap? (hope so!)

What tyres do people normally use. Its called formula 400 & has to use non slicks. Someone said Metzeler Racetecs RR......any good?

Lastly, I've taken the wiring back a little but I don't really know too much so it won't be a total loss wiring race loom. Do people get rid of the radiator fan or not? I also need to remove the key but not sure what I'm doing.......can i race with the key still in and electric start?

Thanks if you can answer any questions. Yes I'm doing it on a super tight budget
"Racing is life. Anything before or after is just waiting"
"Men with guts attack those corners"
banner001
Track day God
Track day God
My Bike: ZXR400 L4