H1 Track Bike(?)

There seems to be more and more members appearing that are racing the ZXR400 so i've created a special section just for you to show off results, discuss meets etc etc.

Moderator: Moderators

Chazzman_bm
My Bike: ZXR400 H1

H1 Track Bike(?)

Post by Chazzman_bm »

What's up folks.

I have had an H1 ZXr400 project for over 10 years. In all that time, it has been stripped down, every bearing has been replaced and anything that could be powedercoated to keep it from going to toad has been done.

For a while, I thought I'd like to restore it to OEM but that's not really lighting my fire anymore so I want to turn it into a track only bike for me to have fun on and improve my riding skill.

I have no race parts yet (except for a full stainless Scorpion system I bought years ago) and I have never done a race project before so I am looking for advice from you guys. What parts should I change or upgrade from stock to make it fun and reliable ...and fast(ish).

Usually, the question of budget comes up at this point. Because I have never done this sort of thing before, I don't really have one. I guess I'll have to take the leap down the rabbit hole and see where it takes me.

Thanks for the advice gents.
Chazz.
R P Corse
CBT slow
CBT slow

Re: H1 Track Bike(?)

Post by R P Corse »

get the engine running right and sort out your suspension and brakes - out of the box these are weapons!

leave engine stock for now - unless you want a bit more out of it, just leave it! make sure carbs are set up properly.

fresh fork fluid and set it up to your weight, this will help MASSIVELY, if you can get a decent rear shock in it like a Nitron/Maxton/Ohlins then do it, if not a decent upgrade is from a stock GSXR 600/750/1000 rear shock, thats basically the handling sorted

as for the brakes, stick some braided lines on the front (and rear if your that way inclined) new seals in the calipers as well, also fresh fluid