Changing a cam chain

This forum is for informative threads, if you feel a topic should be in here then let us know and we will move it.

Moderator: Moderators

adreid
My Bike: ZXR400 L4

Changing a cam chain

Post by adreid »

I have an oil leak from my head gasket and I've decided to change it. Now since the engine will be out I will be changing the CAM chain as the bike is at the 20k miles point. I've searched the forums to see if there is a how to guide of how to change a cam chain and get the timing correct, but can't find anything. Can anyone give me a guide who's done it before, prefereably with pics. I'm a mechanical Engineer and have the manuals so know what's what roughly. Is there anything else that needs changing while the engine is out i.e valve shims, valve guides, cam chain guide. Thanks Adam
If you feel in control your not goin fast enough!
RedexRobB
Site Admin
Site Admin
My Bike: ZXR400L3

Re: Changing a cam chain

Post by RedexRobB »

Doing the Cam chain tensioner is always worth doing while its apart, i dont beleieve they are that much new either.

Can do the valve clearances too while your at it, be a spot on engine once you done all of that :)
adreid

Post by adreid »

So I don't need to change the cam chain guide?
zimm
zxr400 oc member
zxr400 oc member
My Bike: ZXR400-M4, ZX4, ZX6R.

Post by zimm »

only if its snapped
adreid

Post by adreid »

Anyone got a brief guide and any tips on changing the actual cam chain so I don't f*** the timing up. Is there any timing marks anywhere? Any hints on splitting the chain and presing it back together, will a standard chain splitter do the job?
RedexRobB
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by RedexRobB »