Removing the engine

This forum is for informative threads, if you feel a topic should be in here then let us know and we will move it.

Moderator: Moderators

hciR
zxr400 oc member
zxr400 oc member
My Bike: zxr 400

Removing the engine

Post by hciR »

Disclaimer: The following is a documentation of my work, I am not a mechanic nor am I trained to do this. I cannot be held responsible for any accident or damaged caused by following this guide.

I've had to take my engine out recently to do a head gasket so thought it'd be good to take some pics of what's involved, both to help others and to help me put it back together :)

- Remove the side fairings, black panel on lhs, the fuel tank, remembering to switch the tap to the 'off' position.

- Remove the airbox by taking off the large tube on the rhs, then undoing the six bolts around the edge and the two underneath the rubber grommets.

- Remove the carbs by disconnecting the fuel pipe,
taking off the throttle cable (take the bolt out first so you get slack on the cables)
and loosening the four hose clamps and remove the choke cable and spring.
Make sure the idle cable is free before you take them out, if you've undone all the above the carbs will pull off the rubbers with a little wiggle.
Once out it's a good idea to stuff something in the inlets to stop anything from getting in your engine!

- Remove the chain from the front sproket:
Take off the gear link by undoing the clamping bolt and sproket cover by undoing the 4 bolts around the outside (not the ones in the middle).
Take out the retaining pin, loosen the wheel nut and the locking nuts.

screw the adjusters in and move the wheel forwards to slacken off the chain, take it off the sproket.

- Move the sidestand switch out the way by undoing the two bolts securung it to the side stand.

- There are six wires that need to be disconnected from the engine all black or in a black sleve: