burning oil

Moderator: Moderators

hollingsbee#54
My Bike: tomos moped

burning oil

Post by hollingsbee#54 »

My bike appears to be burning oil as the level keeps going down and I have been told that it occasionally blows a bit of blue smoke from the exhaust. Does anyone know where the problem could be?
Rob Hollingsbee Superbike 400
masterofinsanity
Site Admin
Site Admin
My Bike: Aprilia Tuono Fighter

Post by masterofinsanity »

could be valve seals or piston rings? i'm no engineer but i think for blue smoke thats the common faults.
Don't forget people there is more to the zxr400 than this forum... check out www.zxrworld.co.uk also.
sloweracing
zxr400 oc member
zxr400 oc member

Post by sloweracing »

Is this on your race bike Rob

Normally means the rings are worn

when was it last refreshed and is it losing power mate or still pulling strong
hollingsbee#54

Post by hollingsbee#54 »

yeah its the race bike si, not losing power but just abit concered. The whole engine was rebuilt at the start of the season with new JE pistons. Would like to get it sorted before we get on the ferry next week lol
sloweracing
zxr400 oc member
zxr400 oc member

Post by sloweracing »

Sorry we dont use them as we only run the standard kawasaki pistons 0.5 for reliabilty

The J.E come with down falls most of the 400 riders are using standard but the 1mm pistons are not that clever we bought a set and sold them can get some if you want some

Sorry Rob

Ring the tuner who bored it out might give you the answer mate on why its passsing oil

Good luck Rob see you in France

Email if you need help with the engine Rebore etc or new 1mm pistons
RedexRobB
Site Admin
Site Admin
My Bike: ZXR400L3

Post by RedexRobB »

Im sure i read somewhere that race pistons cause you to burn oil as they dont have as many rings on them, so they tend to let oil pass. Is that true?
hollingsbee#54

Post by hollingsbee#54 »