which to race .. L or H ?

There seems to be more and more members appearing that are racing the ZXR400 so i've created a special section just for you to show off results, discuss meets etc etc.

Moderator: Moderators

zimm
zxr400 oc member
zxr400 oc member
My Bike: ZXR400-M4, ZX4, ZX6R.

which to race .. L or H ?

Post by zimm »

I had always intended to slowly turn my L into a race bike, then start racing in 2008, but ive had to sell it to fund a building project.. i still want to build a race bike for 2008 and it will still be a ZXR as i feel comfortable spannering on them where as i have no experience of the FZR's and they seem to be the only other viable option (dont like nc's) ..

but which chassis makes the better racer ? who out there has raced both in similar spec setups ? i know simon's bike was an H, and jake(?) off here has an H if im right.

ive ridden both on the road nd found the H a bit more flickable and confidence inspiring whilst the L was ultimately more capable if a little clinical, but that could all change if you put them on the same condition tyres/suspension..
jake
zxr400 oc member
zxr400 oc member
My Bike: tomos moped

Re: which to race .. L or H ?

Post by jake »

Aye, mines a H, with the h2 swingarm. I like it, but ive never ridden an L model. Ive heard the H frames stand up to crashes better, and the H rear shock linkage works a wee bit better.
The only thing that would swing the L for me , would be the ramair setup,as you have to modify them to fit the H ( ill let ya know, im about to do it for mine).

I quite like the little half subframe on the L too.

edit, having said that, im not exactly at the sharp end of the grid yet...but thats not down to the chassis of the H, thats me not being good enuf yet...and maybee a wee bit short on hp
Jason
My Bike: ZXR400 H1

Post by Jason »